To provide movie goers with the latest in movie entertainment and snack bar options, while continually keeping it a family affordable, fun experience…
The original theatre was located perpindicular to the current theatre, at the rear of the building with the furniture store in the front 3/4's of current auditorium and snack bar. The theatre was positioned to the left of current screen with wooden sloped floor. The auditorium actually went to the back of the current Paint Store. You can still see architectural history behind the coffee shop (where projection booth was located) and paint store. Jesse Jones created the New Rio Theatre in 1948 into its current configuration after the Furniture Store caught Fire.
Ron Burch took over the Rio and the Motor Vu at the same time in November of 1985 from Luxury Theatres (Tom Moyer), later Act III, later Regal. The name change from Rio to Fox happened then and was re-opened as the Fox Theatre on December 6, 1985. Luxury had closed the Motor Vu for the season and had no plans at that time to re-open either theatre (the Rio, had never run concurrently with the Drive In. When the Drive In was open, the Rio closed, and vice-versa). After Ron Burch took over, the Fox Theatre operated 7 days week, 52 weeks a year. In 2007 Jeff and Robin Mexico purchased the Fox Theatre and Motor VU Drive-In and refurbished both. March of 2017, the Fox Theatre once again changes its name. More remodeling will be completed along with the addition of Beer, Wine and Food in May of 2017. Welcome the new Dallas Cinema!
Whom to Contact
- Jeff Mexico